Celebrating 50 Years of the Lleyn Sheep Society in 2020

2016 AGM Weekend

Ripon, North Yorkshire Friday 28th - 30th October 2016

The weekend set off for Council members with a formal meeting, late Friday afternoon. The evening thenAGM 2016 - Two trailers.JPG saw all members enjoy their evening meal either in the hotel restaurant or some ventured out into Ripon City centre. This followed celebrations in the bar which included the South Wales Club celebrating their flock competition results with Champagne.

Saturday was blessed with dry weather.  With the party loaded into two coaches they arrived at David & Christine Thompson's at Helmsley.  Tractors and trailers took the group around the fields of sheep whilst enjoying the autumn colours of the landscape.  Topped off with a good cup of Yorkshire tea and homemade cakes.  Thank you to the Thompson Family and their helpers for hosting this enjoyable visit.

The afternoon saw the group embark a steam train at Pickering which took them along the North York Moors Railway to Goathland, the home of ITV's Heatbeat.

The Annual General Meeting took place that evening back at the hotel. This saw president Nia Williams and Vice President Wynne Davies re-elected. Rhys Davies, Adam Kelly, Gill Adams, Daniel Rowbottom and Ivan Belton were all re-elected onto the Society Council.

The following presentations/announcements of awards were made:

H.E. Roberts Memorial Cup – awarded for the most points at three of the North Wales Shows – presented by Mrs Gwenda Roberts to Mr Wynne Davies

The Noel Baseley Memorial Show Points Cup – for the most points at three county/royal shows – presented by Mrs Patricia Baseley to Mr Edward Adamson on behalf of C & A Kennedy

Barnard Cup for the highest priced ram/ram lamb at the Ruthin Sale 2016 – presented by Miss Nia Williams on behalf of  Miss Linda Barnard to Mrs Gill Adams for G & J Adams

Lleyn Sheep Society’s Cup for the highest price ram/ram lamb at Ross on Wye 2016 – was presented by Mr David Knowles to Mr Derek Steen

Morgan Evans’ Cup for the highest priced pen of eight or more females at Ruthin 2016 - was presented by Mr Ifor Jones to Alun Bennett for DN Bennett & Son

Roseland Cup for the highest priced ram/ram lamb at Exeter 2016 – was presented by Mrs Gill Adams to Mr Llew Thomas on behalf of J & R Twose

Lluest Wen Cup for the highest priced ram/ram lamb at Welshpool 2016 – presented by Mr David Knowles to Mrs Terry Fort on behalf of T & B Fort

There was a presentation of certificates for those members who had been honoured to judge at one of theAGM 2016 - Wynne Davies presents David Alexander with a certificate for judging at the Royal Welsh Show.JPG Royal Shows during 2016:

Royal Ulster Show – Miss Linda Barnard

Royal Highland Show – Mr William Williams

Royal Welsh Show – Mr David Alexander

The results of the 2016 Photo Competition were announced. Judge Mr Dewi Ellis presented the prize.  It was Mr David Knowles, flock 886 who came out as the champion. He has won £75 Mole Valley Farmers Vouchers.

The meeting was rounded off by Mr Meurig Williams giving the Vote of Thanks seconded by Mr John Dugdale.

Other formalities saw Mr Ifor Jones elected as Society Chairman, Mr John Dugdale was elected as Vice Chairman. Mr David Knowles was elected as Treasurer.

The evening then saw 90 gather for the Annual Dinner. Great food and great company. The entertainment was provided by Mr Ted Ogden, Auctioneer at Skipton Auction Mart. With the clocks going back one hour there was much socialising done well into the night.

Sunday saw a small group travel to Askham Bryan College where Mr Ian Snowden very kindly gave a guided tour of the farm.

Thank you to everyone who helped with the weekend from hosting visits to making cakes.  THANK YOU

2020 Handbook Sponsor

Trident Logo.jpg

2020 Newsletter Sponsor

Roxan 2018 logo.png

2020 Photo Competition Sponsor

JG Animal Health logo website.jpg

NSA Affliliation

  Click to see Commercial & Breeders Adverts

C02 - Trident Advert 2020_Page_1.jpeg