Celebrating 50 Years of the Lleyn Sheep Society in 2020

Lleyn Sheep Society Sale – Blessington Mart – Saturday 16th September 2017

At the inaugural sale of Lleyn sheep at Blessington Mart, purchasers picked out quality sheep.  Stronger, well presented sheep were more easily sold.

The older ewes section saw Orla Barry, Duncormick sell 3 year olds for €120/head to James Grainger, Naas.  David Power, Bunclody sold 2 year olds for €88/head to Gerard Monks, Swords.

The shearling ewes were topped by the first prize winning pen of five from Brian Matthews, Killeigh.  They were purchased for €272/head by Glen Keogh, Oldtown.  Next Elizabeth Ovington, Athy sold the fourth prize pen for €225/head to Stephen Mulvey, Dunboyne.  The third prize pen from Alan McDonald, Killeigh sold for €222/head to Sean Leonard, Tullamore.  The second prize pen from David Oliver, Dundalk sold for €217/head to Willard Ritchie, Drum.

The ewe lambs again saw the prize winners on top with Brian Matthews once again in the spot light.  He sold this pen for €210/head to David Power, Bunclody.  Elizabeth Ovington sold the 3rd prize pen for €150/head to Alan McDonald, Killeigh.  The same buyer bought another pen from the same home at €140/head.  The second prize pen from David Oliver sold for €140/head also to David Power.  Malachy Harney, Naas sold the fourth prize pen for €118/head to John Bobbett, Ashbourne.

Brian Matthews continued his successful day by topping the prices in the ram section.  He sold the fourth prize ram Quarrymount Freddie sired by a Geldard ram for €550 to James Grainger, Naas.  Alan McDonald realised €520 for his second prize Ormston ram sired by a Peter Shields ram.  He was bought by Vincent Wall, Ballymacarbry.  David Oliver sold Cooley Footloose sired by a Lluest ram, he was third in the show and was sold for €470 to John Whooley, Bantry.


Aged ewes to €120 av. €100

Shearling ewes to €272 av. €162

Ewe Lambs to €210 av. €102

Rams to €550 av. €410

Top Prices


O Barry €120

David Power €88

Shearling Ewes

Brian Matthews €272

Elizabeth Ovington €225

Alan McDonald €222

David Oliver €217

Elizabeth Ovington €200

Alan McDonald €188

Brendan Donnellan €186

Alan McDonald €176

Alan McDonald €170

Orla Barry €150

Ewe Lambs

Brian Matthews €210

Elizabeth Ovington €150

Elizabeth Ovington €140

David Oliver €140

Elizabeth Ovington €135

Malachy Harney €118

Simon Brown €115

Malachy Harney €104

Michael Murphy €100


Brian Matthews €550

Alan McDonald €520

Brian Matthews €500

David Oliver €470

Padraig Geraghty €450

Show Results

Judge: Russell Millen, County Derry

Pen of 5 Shearling Ewes

  1. Brian Matthews
  2. David Oliver
  3. Alan McDonald
  4. Elizabeth Ovington
  5. Brendan Donnellan

Pen of 5 Ewe Lambs

  1. Brian Matthews
  2. David Oliver
  3. Elizabeth Ovington
  4. Malachy Harney
  5. Simon Brown

Shearling Ram

  1. C & H Long (113)
  2. Alan McDonald (119)
  3. David Oliver (114)
  4. Brian Matthews (108)
  5. Padraig Geraghty (128)